Passing UPSR with flying colours

tar

Sunday, 20 November 2016

It’s a nail biting moment alright as pupils await their results at SK Jalan Ong Tiang Swee in Kuching, Sarawak.Sunday, 20 November 2016
Passing UPSR with flying coloursBY EMILY CHAN, OOI MAY SIM, andLEE CHONGHUI

SUSPENSE filled the air as the 46 pupils who sat for the UPSR at SJK(T) Ladang Edinburgh in Kuala Lumpur waited for their results to be read out.

One pupil obtained 8As, two got 6As and one got 5As.

Sri Darshini Thiruselvam, 12, who scored 8As, said: “Although I got 8A’s in my trial exam, I didn’t expect to get the same results (in the actual exam) because the Mathematics paper was very difficult.” Her mother, Balwir Kaur, who was on her way to the school when the results were announced, swung by a shop to get her daughter’s favourite chocolate to celebrate.

“Darshini had been preparing for this exam since January. At home, she spent most of her time studying. I would tell her, ‘Enough!’ and ask her to go to sleep or to take a break.

 “It is just an exam. It is not the end of the world!” said Balwir.

Darshini’s schoolmate, Devyaan Mageswaran, who scored 6As, said: “The exam was hard, especially the Tamil and English paper as it asked a lot of tough questions.”

Devyaan Mageswaran (centre), gets his cheeks pinched by schoolmates after the results were announced. He scored 6As.

Devyaan Mageswaran (centre), gets his cheeks pinched by schoolmates after the results were announced. He scored 6As.

Devyaan credits his good results to the school, which held extra classes six days a week, and to his mother, Vasantha Ramachandaran, who “helps me study, gives me advice, and takes care of me”.

Vasantha said she was happy with his results.

“This is the first year that the UPSR format has changed, and also the first time the pupils sat for a second English paper.”

Prior the the exam, the diligent mother helped her son prepare by going online and getting different papers for him to practice with.

“Because of the new syllabus, we couldn’t practice by doing past year questions.

“So I would visit online parent groups to get question papers from different schools and states. These were shared by parents,” she said.

Prisha Mahendran also obtained 6As. “I was hoping to get 8As. I was not used to the new format, but I tried my best,” she said.

SK Taman Megah headmistress Khoo Swee Poh is delighted as she poses with the school’s straight As scorers. The Petaling Jaya school had a total of 15 pupils with straight As.

SK Taman Megah headmistress Khoo Swee Poh is delighted as she poses with the school’s straight As scorers. The Petaling Jaya school had a total of 15 pupils with straight As.

To celebrate her results, she said her parents would be taking her out to eat.

SJK(T) Ladang Edinburgh headmistress Theresa Ayyakkannu was happy with her pupils’ performance.

“We have a 100% passing rate for Mathematics and Science.

“The passing rate for all the other subjects have also improved,” she said.

She praised everyone including the pupils’ parents and teachers for their hard work.

“The teachers put in a lot of time and energy, even coming to school during the weekends to teach extra classes. Parents cooperated with the school and our pupils have put in a lot of effort too,” she added.

Science teacher Menaga Salvarajoo was proud of her pupils. She prepared them for the exam by holding extra classes, giving exercises and was constantly searching for new questions so the pupils could practice.

The hall of SK Taman Megah in Petaling Jaya, was filled with anxious Year Six pupils and their parents as they waited for the UPSR results.

Mahdzir chatting with Year Six pupils of SK Bukit Rahman Putra after presenting certificates to the school’s top scorers. – Bernama

Mahdzir chatting with Year Six pupils of SK Bukit Rahman Putra after presenting certificates to the school’s top scorers. – Bernama

They clapped when the school’s headmistress Khoo Swee Poh entered with the result slips.

She told pupils that they were the first cohort to sit for the exam under the new UPSR format, adding that this meant they could not compare their results with the previous year.

She said the school which was within the Petaling Utama district had the top results in Selangor, adding that there were 125 pupils with straight As out of 58 primary schools. Out of the total, Khoo said 15 were from SK Taman Megah.

Kua Wei Yen was brimming with tears of joy when she found out that she had scored straight As.

“I couldn’t believe it! The first thing I did was to check my name to see if it was the correct slip.

“My friends and I put in a lot of effort. We also prayed a lot,” she added.

Thanking her mother for her support, she said she has been helping to study with her since Year One.

“She would take the time to explain. Half of my As go to my mother,” she said.

On the English Language subject which has been split into two grades, one each for the comprehension and writing papers, she said it has become harder.

Previously, English Language constituted just one grade in the overall results.

“It was rather hard to gain points for the writing section,” she added.

Puteri Balqis Farhanah Aidi Sham who also scored straight As, said it was a bittersweet experience. “When I got my results, I was really happy. But I was also sad because some of my friends who were hoping to score straight As, did not get it.”

The school’s assistant head prefect Suraaj Naaidu Panneer Selvam earned his string of As through sheer discipline and effort.

His father Panneer Selvam Seerangam explained that Suraaj Naaidu’s results dropped tremendously last year because he was more focused on games and activities.

“At the beginning of this year, he made a promise that he would score straight As for the UPSR. And he really made it happen – I’m really impressed.”

Suraaj Naaidu’s mother Bavany Ng said that her son, who was active in sports, had sacrificed all his other interests to focus on his studies since January.

Suraaj Naaidu said that he couldn’t believe it when he saw his result slip. “It took a while for me to digest it,” he added.

SK Bukit Rahman Putra had a 100% passing rate among its 225 UPSR candidates. As many as 11 pupils from the school achieved straight As.

Faiq Nuruddin Abdul Ajim achieved straight As at SK Bukit Rahman Putra.

Tears of joy rolled down his cheeks as his father congratulated and embraced him tightly in his arms.

“I never expected to be a top scorer as I did not get straight As in my trial exams,” said the overwhelmed pupil who struggled to get words out.

His father Abdul Ajim Lokman was lost for words as well.

“I never forced him to study. I am proud he managed to score so well based on his own will,” he added.

Zawin Afifah Zawawi made her mother Mazuin Mohd Rahim, a Science and English teacher at the school, extremely proud by achieving straight As in the exam.

The elated pupil said though the new exam format gave her added pressure, she did her best to pull through.

“I was in the first batch of pupils sitting for it,” she said, adding that she did not attend any tuition.

“As a parent, all I can do is to guide her and motivate her and the rest is up to her,” said Mazuin.

Ieman Nur Sufiah Faizal, who scored 5As and 1B said: “I do feel a little sad and disappointed for not getting straight As because I feel like I’ve let down my teachers who have put in much effort to teach us.”

She said she would work harder in secondary school.

Kedrik Selvanesan said he was the third in his family to score straight As in the UPSR.

“I almost didn’t make it as I was lazy previously. But encouragement from my parents and teachers motivated me to do well in my studies,” he added.

His father Selvanesan Sengol said he was proud of the effort put in by Kedri