Top scorers who beat the odds

Sabah Education director Datuk Jame Alip (fourth from right) posing with the students who score 10As in their SPM after the results were announced in Kota Kinabalu. – Photos: NORMIMIE DIUN/The Star

Sabah Education director Datuk Jame Alip (fourth from right) posing with the students who score 10As in their SPM after the results were announced in Kota Kinabalu. – Photos: NORMIMIE DIUN/The Star

KOTA KINABALU: Wanting her parents to have a better life spurred a student to aim for straight As in the Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM).

Joriana Ginawoi, 18, of SM Lok Yuk, Kota Kinabalu who was among Sabah’s top SPM scorers, started crying after obtaining eight A+ and two As.

“My parents always encouraged me to do my best in my studies and whenever I face difficulties or feel stressed from studying, my father would tell me about his life as a child,” said the eldest of three siblings.

She said her father came from a poor family of nine children in Papar near here.

“Despite this my father managed to obtain a scholarship and enter university.

“My father told me that with all the benefits I enjoy, it would be shame not to make the most of it and obtain good results,” she said.

Joriana added she wanted to obtain straight As so she could get a scholarship to pursue her studies and become a doctor.

She made it a point to study and revise everyday, and pose questions to her teachers and friends if she was unsure about something.

“I want to make my parents proud and I am happy I have done well,” said Joriana

Avid gamer Jesper Leonard Vun Kien Fung who also got 10As, attributed his success to his late father and mother who have been a source of inspiration and motivation.

“My dad died three years ago and my mum had to look after me and my two brothers,” said the SMK Sung Siew, Sandakan student.

Jesper said his father, who was a lorry driver and mechanic, always advised his children to study hard if they did not want to have a difficult life like him.

“Seeing my mum struggle to make ends meet by working as a clerk made me start focusing on my studies,” Jesper said, adding he still plays games but only during weekends.

Source: The Star